About Us

Member Agencies-Executive Board-SRCJA Staff

SRCJA received approval from the Virginia General Assembly to become the 11th regional criminal justice academy in the Commonwealth of  Virginia. Our academy traces its roots back to 1999 when the criminal justice agencies of the Northern Shenandoah Valley affiliated with Rappahannock Regional Criminal Justice Academy to bring training closer to the Valley Region. We started out in a former bowling alley located in Front Royal at 21 W 6th Street and then moved in 2003 to the current Middletown location at 2182 E 3rd Street.

SRCJA in Middletown, Virginia, is governed by a Board of Directors representing each of our member agencies.

Executive Committee

The Board of Directors appoints an Executive Committee consisting of five agency heads from its member agencies to guide operations. Management of our police academy is vested in Executive Director Tommie Bower.
Chairman– Town of Strasburg Chief Wayne Sager
Vice Chairman– County of Frederick Sheriff Lenny Millholland
Board Members– Town of Berryville Chief Neil White, City of Winchester Chief John Piper, and RSW Superintendent Russell Gilkison


Executive Director

Tommie A. Bower

Deputy Director

Stephen Dodson

Basic Training Coordinator

Erika Unruh

In-Service Training Coordinator



Lynn Long

Administrative Assistant

Becky Allman


Ret. Capt. Roger Vorous